

Biomedical Research Committee

(January 2021)

Terms of Reference

Refer to HRC Act 1990 (Sections 13, 14 Principal function of the Biomedical Research Committee and Sections 17-19 General Functions of Research Committees) and HRC Policy Document *Description, Interpretation and Implementation of the Statutory Functions for Research Committees.*

Membership Composition

Section 20 of the HRC Act 1990 states:

Membership of research committees

- 1 Each research committee shall consist of seven (7) members.
- 2 At least five (5) of the seven (7) members of each research committee shall have research experience that is relevant to the kind of health research in respect of which the committee is established.
- 3 The members of each research committee
 - (a) Shall be appointed from time to time by the Council; and
 - (b) May include both members of the Council and persons who are not members of the Council.
- 4 In appointing members of a research committee, the Council shall have regard to
 - (a) Their personal attributes; and
 - (b) Their ability to contribute to the discharge of the functions of the research committee.
- 5 The chairperson of each research committee shall be a member of the Council from time to time appointed for the purpose by the Council.
- 6 Subject to subsection (7) of this section, every member of a research committee shall be appointed for a term of three (3) years but may from time to time be reappointed.
- 7 Upon the completion by any person of two (2) consecutive terms as a member of a research committee, that person shall cease to be eligible for reappointment as a member of that research committee until after the lapse of three (3) years during which that person did not hold office as a member of that research committee.

Council agreed in principle to co-option of members to the Research Committee for a period of twelve months (Refer to HRC Council minutes April 1993).

Term of Office

Refer to HRC Act 1990 (Section 20)

Process for Appointment of Committee Members

The Council taking into consideration the matters referred to in Part 1, Section 20(4) of the HRC Act 1990 and consulting with the Committee, appoints members. The Chief Executive formally invites the proposed member confirmed by Council.

Current Membership	Date Appointed	End of Term	Expertise	Location
Professor Vicky Cameron (Chair)	08.2019	08.2022	Cardiovascular disease	Christchurch
Professor Nicola Dalbeth (Co-opted: one year	09.2019	09.2020	Rheumatology	Auckland
term) Reappointed as member	08.2020	08.2023		
Associate Professor Katie Groom	04.2020	04.2023	Perinatology	Auckland
Associate Professor Julia Horsfield (Co-opted: one year term)	12.2016	12.2017	Developmental genetics	Dunedin
Reappointment Appointed as member	12.2017 11.2018	11.2018 11.2021		
Professor Greg Jones (Co-opted: one year term)	12.2020	12.2021	Vascular Biology	Dunedin
Professor Anne La Flamme	09.2018	09.2019	Immunology	Wellington
Appointed as member	09.2019	09.2022		
Professor John Reynolds	04.2019	04.2022	Neuroscience	Dunedin

Current Membership	Date Appointed	End of Term	Expertise	Location
Dr Jade Tamatea	12.2020	12.2023	Endocrinology	Waikato and Auckland
Dr Robert Weinkove	04.2019	04.2022	Cancer Immunology	Wellington
Secretary: Quorum: Meetings per annum: Reports to: Established by: Reviewed: Disbanded:	Dr Katie Biomedic 4 3-4 Council HRC Act	al)	(Research Investment Ma	anager,