Back to top anchor

Pacific Health Research Committee

The Pacific Health Research Committee provides the HRC with advice about Pacific health research priorities and Pacific health research workforce development. 

Pacific flower

There is also a Pacific Assessing Committee that assesses applications for the HRC's Pacific Health Research Career Development Awards and Pacific Projects, and recommends to the HRC Council which applications to support.

Click here for the committee's Terms of Reference.

Committee members:

  • Associate Professor Dan Tautolo - (Chair) Director, Centre for Pacific Health and the Pacific Islands Families Study, AUT University, Auckland
  • Dr Ofa Dewes - Affiliate Investigator, Maurice Wilkins Centre for Molecular Biodiscovery, and Research Fellow, School of Nursing, The University of Auckland, Auckland
  • Dr Riz Firestone - Senior Research Fellow/Associate Dean Pacific, Centre for Public Health Research, Massey University, Wellington Campus, Wellington
  • Dr Dianne Sika-Paotonu - Associate Dean Pacific/Senior Lecturer, University of Otago, Wellington
  • Dr Bruce Su'a - Paediatric Surgeon, Starship Hospital, Auckland
  • Dr Paula Vivili - Director, Public Health Division, The Pacific Community, Noumea
  • Dr Donald Wilson - Associate Dean - Research and Director of the Fiji Institute of Pacific Health Research at the College of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences at Fiji National University

Ex officio members:
Marisa Maepu -
Ministry of Health
Professor Sunny Collings - HRC Chief Executive

Committee Secretary: Tolotea Lanumata - HRC Manager - Pacific Health Research