Back to top anchor
Advisory and Assessing Committees

Pacific Health Research Committee membership

The Pacific Health Research Committee provides the HRC with advice about Pacific health research priorities and Pacific health research workforce development. It is a standing committee founded by the HRC in recognition of the need to have high-level expertise in managing Pacific health research investment.

There is also a Pacific Assessing Committee that assesses the Pacific Career Development Awards and Pacific Project applications, and makes recommendations to the HRC Council about which applications to support.

Committee members:

  • Dr Ofa Dewes - Chair, Affiliate Investigator, Maurice Wilkins Centre for Molecular Biodiscovery, and Research Fellow, School of Nursing, The University of Auckland, Auckland
  • Dr Riz Firestone - Senior Research Fellow/Associate Dean Pacific, Centre for Public Health Research, Massey University, Wellington Campus, Wellington
  • Dr Dianne Sika-Paotonu - Associate Dean Pacific/Senior Lecturer, University of Otago, Wellington
  • Dr Bruce Su'a - Paediatric Surgeon, Starship Hospital, Auckland
  • Associate Professor Dan Tautolo - Director, Centre for Pacific Health and the Pacific Islands Families Study, AUT University, Auckland
  • Dr Paula Vivili - Director, Public Health Division, The Pacific Community, Noumea

Ex officio members:
Marisa Maepu -
Ministry of Health
Professor Kathryn McPherson - Former Chief Executive, Health Research Council of New Zealand

Committee Secretary: Tolotea Lanumata, HRC Manager - Pacific Health Research.

Additional: Pacific Health Research Terms of Reference