We celebrate New Zealand health research excellence by awarding two medals annually:

The HRC introduced the Liley Medal in 2004, in recognition of Sir William Liley, KCMG, BMedSc, MBChBPhD FRZNZ, FRCOG (1929-1983) and his leadership of scientific endeavour in New Zealand. We annually present the Liley Medal to a recipient whose recent research has made an outstanding contribution to the health and medical sciences. 

The Beaven Medal, named after the late Professor Sir Donald Ward Beaven, KNZM, CBE (1924 – 2009), acknowledges Sir Don’s long time interest in translating research into clinical practice. We first awarded the Medal in 2010 and it is presented annually to a recipient who has been recognised for excellence in translational research.